New Year….

Thanks to a friend, knocking on my blog’s door, I have nearly forgotten its existence. Excuses for not updating – tired, busy, not up to it, etc. It’s not that there’s nothing to write about. It’s the same story of parents’ dilemma, poverty, hardship. Just different set of parents. It’s the same tiredness at work. Just different days. In short, I’m afraid I might become a tiresome recorder.

1. Taiping is still raining.

2. My doggy is growing bigger, cuter, more adorable, but less naughty. Growing in the right way! Thanks to wonderful upbringing. Haha!

3. Patient-load has increased (what’s new?). Waiting list has now stretched to 11 months. I’m not proud of it. But I don’t know what to do about it. In 2008, I saw 1088 patients. In 2009…..(drum roll…..)… 1272 patients. And that’s 11 months of work cos I was away in HKL for the whole month of February.

4. Yes….still no sign of another speech therapist coming to share the burden cos nationwide is short.Life and work still go on

5. We are starting an early intervention centre for the children with learning difficulties, led by a group of parents here in Taiping. We have had several meetings and things are progressing. They have found a place, some sponsors and candidates for teachers. Now working on registration of the society. It’s pretty exciting. And I’m very encouraged by their enthusiasm. My role in this – is to supply parents to the meeting, open my clinic as their meeting place and offer some opinions every now and then. I’m just playing a passive role.

6. Trying out new strategies in therapy i.e. group therapy and more parents’ discussion meetings.

7. Still getting frustrated at some parents and staff but am more patient in dealing with them. Humility is an important lesson I’ve learned in 2009 and am still learning. Humble pie is becoming a staple diet.

8. Jaded, lethargy, frustration, loss of enthusiasm every now and then. But I still love my children and see a reason to continue on.

9. Many friends are applying for transfer. Am expecting that by middle of 2010, many would have left. Need new friends for lunch.

10. Most commonly asked question (besides “When is your turn to get married?) – “Still in Taiping?” and “Are you asking for a transfer to Ipoh?”. Yes and No respectively. I have my own plan and time frame. Besides, I still have a lot of things I want to do and learn in Taiping. I believe it is not my time to leave yet.

One thing that will never change –  still finding and depending on God’s grace and mercy, both in work and life.

Happy New Year, everyone!

~ by enniey on January 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “New Year….”

  1. For the n-th time, it’s not your dog…….although I am happy she’s growing to be like her name =)

  2. hi ennie!! I love your blog layout! 🙂 And it’s been a while since I’ve spoken to you or met you! 🙂 How are you?

Leave a Reply

 
