Tiny miracle gone

I wrote about SN, a tiny miracle in my previous post. Last Friday, SN’s mother came to my clinic to look for me. I was surprised to see her as I didn’t schedule her child that day.

SN’s mother said, “SN tak datang lagi dah. Dia dah meninggal.”

After the initial shock, my first thought was, “Did I kill him?” I was afraid that I might have caused SN to acquire aspiration pneumonia.

SN’s mother then told me his cause of death was due to his bad heart condition.

I was speechless. I really didn’t know whether I should console SN’s mother or myself. The baby was doing so well. He was gaining weight.

SN’s mother asked if she should inform the dietitian as well. I told her I would do it for her.  She thanked me for what I have done for her baby and left. I could only manage to touch her hand and tell her to take care.

I appreciated the fact that SN’s mother took the trouble to inform me of her baby’s death.

It was a very sad day for me.

~ by enniey on August 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
