Back In Taiping

Since Monday night. People think I’m a workaholic for shortening my mc. Well….I have a schedule that I have planned. I don’t want to delay my schedule for another week. Besides, my toe feels fine. I’m not lying! I can walk fine. I’m still using the splint. Alright, my toe’s strength is still not back to what it used to be yet. But I’m really fine!

Besides, my work now only involves sitting down on a chair. Ok…occasionally I do have to go to office to settle somethings. Ok….sometimes, I make detours to ENT clinic. Alright, these places are on the 1st floor of the main building and I’m now in another building 50m away. Alright….might as well admit that I walked a lil bit too much on the first 2 days I’m back. But I am fine. Am I convincing enough?

I’m now busying myself in decorating the therapy room. I found the room too cold, the colours are too dull. Looks more like an office than a therapy room. So I set myself to this self-gratifying task. Thank God for an equally enthusiastic assistant. Sometimes, I think she’s more enthusiastic and excited than I am. She even want to do the same thing for her kids at home!

I’ve banned the ENT staff from coming into the therapy room till the decorating work is finished. I hope to surprise them. Hopefully, they will be pleasantly surprised…and not horrifyingly shocked. What am I actually doing? Will reveal them when I’m done =)

I was suddenly called to attend an accreditation meeting for allied health professionals today. I’m supposed to be the head of speech therapy unit. Well, who else is there anyway. There were so many things to be ‘troubled’ with. All these ISO things really made my head spin. I’ll rather study for exams. Truthfully! I sat there, not understanding a word they said. I knew they were speaking in Malay and English. They might as well speak in Swahili and it would make no difference to me. My mind kept wandering to the therapy room. I am not ready to be a head. I just want to set up the clinic in peace. Just give me money to buy toys. Thankfully, I found out later, that as speech therapy unit is under ENT, I do not need to be ‘troubled’ by all these accreditation stuff. Phew!

Ok…my time frame of work:

1. Finish all decorating work by 30 Nov (It’s really a lot of work!)

2. Plan how to run clinic and prepare therapy materials in 1st week of Dec (Hopefully the computer will arrive by this week….wait…tomorrow is Friday….next week then.)

3. Have a department ‘opening ceremony’ of the therapy room on 7 Dec. (I have thus far refrained from using the word ‘my’)

4. Slowly start clinic from 2nd week of Dec.

Hopefully, things will turn out well and according to this planned time frame. And of course, I pray and hope that the x-ray will not show any sign of cracks on my toe (follow up with ortho on the coming Monday).

My apartment offers the view of the splendid Maxwell Hill. I often look out, longing to walk up the hill. I miss running. I miss swimming. I miss all the physical work I was too lazy to do before the cracked toe. Funny how one has to lose something to appreciate what he/she had. Though I must admit, wearing Teva to work has been fun and really liberating.

My goal before the end of the year – go up Maxwell Hill.

~ by enniey on November 22, 2007.

Leave a comment